I had a fairly good week in terms of Weight Watchers losses and I am back on a downward trend! Next week barring a major issue I should earn my official 25lb sticker (I am only.4lbs away) which is exactly where I was a few weeks ago when I got off track. I feel good getting back on track. I am also busy writing posts from last weeks cooking, there were some very good things. Look for those to go online throughout the week.

BBQChickenSandwich
One of the amazing things I cooked this week was 4 chicken breasts that I had previously frozen in a marinade a few weeks ago. I have made no less than 4 meals out of those stinking chicken breasts, and that is a very important point when it comes to cooking healthfully and frugally. You can lose weight and not break the bank and eat delicious food! It is not super easy, you have to use coupons, watch sales and plan for those essential healthy items like higher priced bread, tortillas, etc.

However, a good example is what I bought this week. If you got Sunday’s paper you got coupons for Nature’s Pride bread (a good choice) for $1.98 with Safeway coupon. Also, I pay close attention to sale produce. I tend to spend about $20 per week in produce . . . I eat my 5 – 6 servings of fruits and veggies! This week you can get 2 cantaloupe for $4, giant artichokes for $1, BOGO raspberries and blueberries, and zucchini for $1 per pound. All of these items are in my fridge waiting to be used in my menu. By shopping this way I save the most money and eat what is in season and freshest. And that chicken I used to make 4 meals this week, I got for $.99/lb . . . that’s $.50 per meal for 2 people!

I am also very proud of my shopping this week! I started keeping a price book, a concept that I have seen on a lot of frugal blogs. I just needed to write out a list of the items I thought were thrifty deals and have a space to match in my coupons and track the rewards. This also helped me budget out what I am spending. This worked really well for me this week. I also pulled all my coupons prior to shopping and stuck in the price book before each stop. This saved me a lot of time, instead of spending over an hour in Walgreens, CVS/Longs, Nob Hill and Safeway. I did the first 3 within 2 hours (including driving) and Safeway in about 30 minutes! And I only spent $70 out of pocket at all 4 stores!

This coming week there are a lot of deals and CVS/Longs is finally using the extra care bucks, so I am going to want to start collecting those. But I already have my price book going for the week and am matching my coupons. Next week, if I have time I will even take a photo of what I get to share with you all. I mean it is amazing how much more I am able to get. Just to give you an idea I got a large pack of paper towels, large pack of TP, 5 boxes of cereal, canned goods, mustard, boxed mac and cheese, toothpaste, tooth brushes, plus all my weekly groceries and produce for that $70!

And now . .. after all my blathering on about sales, my menu!

Menu for 5/31 – 6/6

Sunday: The best chicken sandwich ever (pictured above: toasted bread, fat-free ranch, chicken mixed with bbq sauce, tomato, mixed greens, 1 piece crispy bacon), and to finish up my chicken . . . BBQ Chicken Tortizza and a salad (look for my Tortizza post on Monday!)

Monday: 6 Week Raisin Bran Muffins, OAMC Taco Shells (last of my once a month cooking in April), Mexican Zucchini, Guacamole

Tuesday: Pork Medallions, Rice, Roasted Vegetable Salad

Wednesday: Honey Mustard Chicken Legs, Sweet Potato Fries, Broccoli

Thursday: Homemade Whole Wheat Hot Pockets (using TJ whole wheat pizza dough), Salad

Friday: Dinner Out or Leftovers

Saturday: Out with my friend (belated birthday celebration!)
Sunday: Wicked in SF with my Sis!!!! (another birthday celebration . . . I am having the longest birthday ever!!!)

For more menus visit: Orgjunkie.com