Chocolate Chip Cookie Heaven

Chocolate Chip Cookie Heaven

I love cookies . . . no, I really love cookies! And they don’t get more perfect than big, chewy, crispy chocolate chip cookies. This recipe, for my taste, are perfect. They are crispy around the edge and when you underbake the middle slightly, the center is almost creamy. I literally swooned when I perfected these.

My friend gave me a recipe that I originally thought were these cookies, but she hoodwinked me. Do you have friends like that, ones that don’t quite give you the recipe?? But luckily I figured out I needed to reduce the egg to butter ratio and it worked out and now I have my perfect chocolate chip recipe and I will be putting it to really good use . . much to the detriment of my behind!

The thing that makes this recipe work is cold . . . cold butter and cold dough. I am far too impatient to let them chill in the fridge for an hour, so I stick them in the freezer for 15 minutes and they come out great. You also want them a little raw in the center. Also, size matters, scoop these too small and the texture is not right. And trust me you want these right. I also will freeze the majority of the dough in a log so I can scoop a few and have fresh from the oven on a regular basis. Make these for a friend having a bad day, and they will fell better . . . and possibly follow you home!

Cool on a rack for the crispy exterior.

Cool on a rack for the crispy exterior.

Chocolate Chip Cookies
1 lb unsalted butter (cold and cut into pieces)
2 cups brown sugar
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
3 large eggs
1/2 tsp salt
4 2/3 cups AP Flour
1 tsp baking soda
3 cups chocolate chips ( I used dark chocolate chunks and mini chips)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Using your paddle attachment of your stand mixer (if you don’t have one borrow one from a friend because this recipe will not work with a hand mixer). Cream butter with sugars. Add vanilla and eggs and mix until just combined.

Whisk together dry ingredients and add to wet in 3 additions, mixing after each addition. When well incorporated add chocolate chips ( you could also add some chopped toasted nuts . . . pecans would be my choice but anything would work).

Scoop with an ice cream scoop on lined baking sheet (and yes they need to be that big for the perfect texture). Refrigerate for 1 hour or for the impatient freeze for 15 minutes. Bake 14 – 16 minutes, to get the perfect texture pull from the oven when the center is still underbaked and the outside is golden brown. Then let them sit on the pan for a couple of minutes. They will be very soft while they cool but perfect when they are ready to eat!

This makes a lot of dough, but it freezes beautifully!

My frozen log of dough . . . ready for whenever I am

My frozen log of dough . . . ready for whenever I am

