I have a confession. I am afraid of cooking asian food! I know it’s silly, but with the long list of ingredients and I always overdue the sauce. And it is usually soy sauce that is to blame. So it ends up salty, brown and yucky. So unlike my usually wingin’ it style of cooking, I now follow a recipe, measure and pretty much stick to the game plan.

Cut slits in the meat to help it marinade quickly

Cut slits in the meat to help it marinade quickly

This is soooooo yummy! Another recipe from my friends at Cuisine at Home. It is really simple with a quick marinade and the same marinade then dresses the salad! And even though it is middle of summer, I use my indoor grill pan.

Look at those grill marks!

Look at those grill marks!


Why? I have a very small patio on a second floor apartment . . . not exactly an inspiring grilling experience. Also I am lazy and it is just as easy to whip out my beautiful grill pan and make it happen.

Pretty Vegetables

Pretty Vegetables

The one modification I did make, was to up the veggies. Mine is more a salad with noodles . . . but I have to stick in the veggies where I can. And it was very yummy, I used the ramen noodles but spaghetti noodles would work as well.

Mongolian Flank Steak
Courtesy of Cuisine at Home
Blend in blender or food processor:
1/4 cup hoisin sauce
1/4 cup chicken broth
2 tbs. each rice vinegar, toasted sesame oil, and chopped garlic
1 tbs each brown sugar, soy sauce and chopped fresh ginger
1 tsp sriracha or chili garlic sauce
1 1/2 lb flank steak

Reserve 1/2 cup sauce for noodle salad. Score 1 side of flank steak in diamond pattern. Place in ziploc bag with marinade. Leave at room temp. for 20 minutes. Preheat grill. Blot meat to remove any excess marinade and season with salt and pepper. Grill 5 minutes per side for medium-rare. Let rest on cutting board before slicing for 5 minutes. Slice thinly on the diagonally against the grain.


Noodle Salad
7.7 oz yakisoba or ramen noodles cooked according to the package directions cooled
1 cup sugar snap peas, blanched and rinsed with cold water
1/2 cup red onion, slivered
1/2 cup carrots sliced into thin strips
1/2 cup red bell peppers, sliced into strips
1/2 cup bean sprouts, rinsed
2 tbs cilantro
Reserved marinade
Chopped cashews (I used peanuts)

Toss everything together and serve cold.

