This recipe comes with a warning! Please be prepared if you make this recipe, that it is highly addictive! I have made this for several different brunches, and every time people practically lick the baking dish . . . even my mom, who is not a huge sweets person said that I shouldn’t be making this for people . . . it is so good that it is wrong. And if perhaps you make this for your family’s Sunday brunch this weekend, please be aware that you may find yourself constantly picking at the pan all day, until the leftovers are gone.

Why is it so good, you ask? Oh I don’t know, maybe because it tastes like a cross between a sticky bun and really good french toast. Perhaps it is because it takes 5 minutes to make after dinner and then all you have to do is pop it in the oven the next morning. All I know is that the food that really speaks to me always ends up in a dream . . . and I dream about this recipe a lot! It may not be the prettiest thing on your plate, but it will be the tastiest!!

Caramel Overnight French Toast
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup light corn syrup
1/4 cup butter
10 slices of soft french bread (being a SF Bay Area girl, I use sourdough!)
2 1/2 cups milk
1 tbl flour
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt
2 eggs
2 tbl sugar
1 tsp cinnamon

Cook first 3 ingredients in a sauce pan for 5 minutes over medium heat until dissolved and bubbly. Pour into a 13×9 baking dish (I often will add a couple of handfuls of toasted, chopped pecans at this point). Arrange bread in a single layer (overlapping is fine). Whisk together milk, flour, vanilla, salt and eggs. Pour over bread. Cover dish and refrigerate overnight or approximately 8 hours. Combine cinnamon and sugar and sprinkle over bread. Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 50 minutes.

