I was very excited by this recipe choice by Michelle of Bad Girl Baking. Why? Because it gave me an excuse to make granola!! I love making homemade granola because I think the ingredients you like in granola are very personal choice. And there are literally thousands of possible ways of making it. Also many of the store brands are soooo bad for you, loaded with fats and way too much sugar. I personally like simple granola with nuts and typically no dried fruit. I love to eat granola on top of fresh fruit for breakfast, so the dried fruit just gets in my way.

So for this week’s challenge I made Vanilla Scented Almond Granola. Sounds fancy, but really it is a very simple easy recipe that has a large helping of vanilla! And it is delish, my favorite kind. Sweet, crunchy and simple, perfect granola!

So after I baked my granola and let it cool I very quickly assembled the recipe for granola grabbers. It was very quick to make the dough. Instead of the raisins, I substituted dried cranberries and also added in a couple of white chocolate chunks (I am a bad girl!). I reduced the amount of almonds, since my granola was pretty loaded with them already.

These are incredibly tasty . . . a really nice twist on a traditional oatmeal cookie. If I had stuck to the recipe and left out the chocolate, it could have even been a reasonable snack . . . 🙂

Vanilla Scented Almond Granola
4 cups old fashioned oats
1 cup sliced almonds
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp cinnamon
1/3 cup canola oil
1/4 cup honey
2 tbl sugar
4 tsp vanilla

Preheat to 300 degrees and lightly spray a large baking sheet. Mix first 5 ingredients in large bowl. Combine oil, honey and white sugar in small saucepan. Bring to a simmer over medium heat. Remove from heat and add vanilla. Pour hot liquid over oat mixture until well mixed. Bake 30 minutes or until golden brown stirring every 10 minutes (unless you want chunks then don’t stir!).

