Yes, I am actually talking about “rolls” but I think in every family around the holiday we each fulfill a “role” in the holiday meal creation. In my family at Thanksgiving, my Grandma is the turkey, stuffing, potatoes core of the meal chef. She used to do everything, but now we all contribute which I think makes it fun and adventurous. My sister, mom and I really enjoy experimenting with new recipes.

In the last few years I have typically contributed appetizers and some kind of non-traditional dessert. This year I have also been tapped to make my Great-Grandmother’s Parker House Rolls. Buttery, white bread yumminess that often get mostly eaten up before dinner starts. They were an annual favorite, but a few years ago my Grandma stopped making them because they are a bit of work. My mom was inspired to bring them back, but since her first time working with yeast was a few weeks ago making pizza dough and I have my trusty mixer, I volunteered to try my hand at making them. Of course then I remembered that my cousins can eat an unlimited amount of rolls, so I will definitely have my work cut out for me.

The other tradition is stuffed celery . . . I hate to even discuss this because you may think less of me! This is a recipe my Nana (my mom’s mom) created, probably in the 50’s! It consists of Velveeta cheese, mayo, pimento, green onions and garlic powder and pepper. Yes velveeta and mayo . . . weird, dated and heart attack inducing but my family requires it at Thanksgiving! They usually are eating it faster than I can get it stuffed and loaded on the plate. Don’t try it, you may like it and then be forced to ask the clerk at your store where the cheese is located, and that is an embarrassment I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy (if I had one!).

My mom usually brings a homemade cranberry sauce, an alternative sweet potato (to the marshmallow one!) and often spoonbread (a southern corn casserole). My sister has the job of attending two Thanksgiving dinners and therefore does double duty bringing traditional pies (pumpkin, apple, pecan) to both our celebration and her in-laws. Every year we all sit around the living room patting our full bellies and watch them pack up the kids and head for dinner #2 in amazement.

This year as you will see by my menu below, we have all resumed our roles. My aunt is coming down for the week to help my Grandma with the standard fare and to spend some time with us as they are going to my other aunt and uncle’s in Idaho for Christmas.

I am very glad I took the whole week off to enjoy some time in the kitchen and with my family. The month of November has gone so fast! I need this time to get in the mood for the Christmas holidays, because as of today I am not at all in the mood to start preparation, shopping and goodie making!

I will do my best next week to post my recipes and experiences. Plus I will be featuring my holiday treat making and even a couple of upcoming decorated cakes for a baby shower and a few holiday parties. What fun!

Thanksgiving Recipes

  • Pumpkin Roulade
    Was going to do a different one, but then saw the dessert special hosted by Ina Garten on Food Network tonight. It was filled with a marscopone filling. . yum!
  • Dorie Greenspan’s Chocolate Caramel Tart
  • Parker House Rolls
  • Stuffed Celery
  • Stuffed Mushrooms

I will post as I go along so look for recipes and pics next week!

