zachferry

I hope the answer to that question is yes! I lost it today and I am fighting that ‘you have no will power’ negative self talk thing. I know in the long run it doesn’t matter, what matters is what I do next and working to reduce the times when I overindulge. But it is hard not to berate myself for making bad choices.

So today started off good! My boy was spending the night at a friends, so I skipped the apple waffles (decided I would get up early and make them for inauguration day instead!). Instead I kept it simple with a bowl of Frosted Mini-Wheats.

frostedwheats

On my way to pick up my boy and spend the day with friends I ate this banana.

banana

After this is when it gets dicey! The plan for the day was to take the ferry into SF this afternoon and play tourist at Pier 39, take the kids to the arcade and then head home. A great plan! But first we went to lunch at one of my favorite mexican food places . . .yikes! Now I make mexican style food at home a lot, we like our spicy food! But going to a mexican restaurant is a huge challenge for me. I remember a few years ago when I tried the whole low carb thing, I actually quit the diet at a Chevy’s. If you read Atkins book, he says if you fall off the low carb wagon you will balloon up and literally have to start all over. I think he intended it to give people motivation not to cheat, but I of course took it as a doomsday scenario!

Anyways, I love chips and salsa and guacamole, a lot! And when sitting down hungry in front of a large basket of these things I tend to lose it. When I sat down I decided that instead of constantly dipping into the basket of chips, I would grab 12 at a time (or a ww portion of 3 points) and I would order one of my favorite soft tacos (as opposed to the usual 2) and eat half of my rice and beans. Then my friend ordered guacamole to share after I had already eaten my 12 chips. I proceeded to eat another 2 portions of chips, about 1/2 cup of guac and I also ate most of my rice and about half my beans. The only thing I didn’t do was a big old margarita. YIKES!

coffeesf

Then after walking around Pier 39 I got a cup of coffee and a biscotti, not a horrible choice but I could have done without the additional treat. But, in my defense, everyone else was getting fresh mini-donuts with cinnamon sugar . . . I know no excuse!

It took forever for us to get home on the ferry, and then we had an additional 30 minute drive home from there. So I was really hungry when I got home! So I had a mini cinnamon bagel and a ww 1 point container of cream cheese. Then I made the turkey chili my meeting leader posted on Saturday. It is chock-full of veggies. Her version was a 1 point chili per 1 cup serving (very cool!) However, I thought it needed some more beans, spices and some other ingredients. My version came out to about 3 points for a total of 16 servings. I also finally roasted the pumpkin that was sitting on my counter with a little cinnamon and salt and olive oil spray. Next time I will add some spicy stuff to it with maybe chili powder or cayenne.

turkey-chili

Anyways, by the end of the day, I ended up about 8 points over my daily points limit. Not bad for how many treats I had, but sucks to start the week this way! I need to be less swayed by others around me, just because there was chips and guacamole does not mean I have to eat it. How bout all of you, do you struggle with friend eating? What do you do to stay satisfied while dining out with friends?

Turkey Chili (my way!)

20 oz Extra Lean Ground Turkey
1 medium onion, diced
5 cloves of garlic, minced
2 medium zucchini, small dice
1 yellow squash, small dice
1 1/2 cups carrots, small dice
1 green bell pepper diced
1 red bell pepper diced
2 tbsp chili powder
1 tbsp cumin
1 tsp cayenne
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp oregano
4 oz tomato paste
28 oz crushed tomatoes in puree
14 oz diced tomatoes with green chilies
14 oz diced tomatoes
4 cups fat free chicken broth
1 cup frozen corn
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
2 cans kidney beans, drained and rinsed

Spray non-stick stock pot with olive oil spray. Saute all the veggies and garlic together for 3 – 4 minutes. Add ground turkey and brown. Add seasonings and saute 2 minutes. Add tomato paste and caramelize 2 minutes stirring frequently. Add in remaining tomatoes and broth. Bring to a simmer, cook 15 minutes on medium. Add in beans, simmer 30 minutes. Add in corn and simmer another 10 – 15 minutes.

Serving size: 1 cup for 3 points
Approximately 16 servings

